PDA

View Full Version : Hello - My Panic/Anxiety/Depression and Meds. Welcome note and comments!

jcbaby
04-10-15, 19:20
Hi Guys,

This is my first time posting on a forum, I have read them a lot however never really used them. I am a 24 year old male who is suffering from crippling panic attacks, anxiety and insomnia. I do not want to go into specific details regarding why my condition(s) have worsened recently, however I must say - I feel hopeless, and am now under the mental health team's supervision in UK - I suppose it's a first step!

I have a PRN (as and when required) prescription for Diazepam (up to 6mgs up to 3x a day) and my doc has just put me on Pregabalin (Lyrica) 75mg x2 a day (150mg) and Mirtazipine 15mg a night (anti-depressant/anxiolytic).

I am just saying hello, would love to listen to people who really understand how debilitating and painful (mentally AND physically) panic disorder and generalized anxiety and depression can be. Not to mention the sleepless nights. I am also here to share my stories, and hopefully provide useful stories/reviews on techniques and medications used to control my panic attacks/severe anxiety.

My concern is that the valium (Diazepam) no longer feels like it has an effect, and my doctors are looking at taking me off it all-together. If I'm honest this scares the heck out of me, and the Pregabalin was useful at relieving some symptoms of anxiety for the first week/few days at this dose, however now I'm feeling as though it's becoming less effective.

But anyway! Hello guys, I'm Josh!:weep:

Any advice on my medication (perhaps not advice, but personal stories/experience) would be very welcome! I know it's not all about medication - I'm looking at doing CBT therapy and other things, but I'm so scared of what the docs might do! :blush::wacko:

venusbluejeans
04-10-15, 19:27
Hiya jcbaby and welcome to NMP :welcome: