PDA

View Full Version : so tired

sammie
13-02-07, 16:23
hi everyone

i am so tired i know i am depressed at the moment but its like a black cloud is following me around. i have lived with panic/anxiety for 16 yrs with no depression but recent events ( bereavements and illnes) have really hit me hard. i am trying to come to terms with my nephews sudden death at 21 ys and my dads illness(altzeimers) added to this is the fact i have not slept properly for over 6 months despite having counselling and sleeping pills. the worst of it is i am in my 2nd year of a psychology degree and i am struggling to muster anf enthusiasm for this course (my marks are showing this)

any ideas on how to get motivated again depression is ugly and not me at all i want the old me back
sammie

sandie
13-02-07, 16:41
Hello Sammie

What a terrible burden you are carrying. After 16 years living with anxiety and panic, it was incredibly brave of you to begin your degree programme. Given recent events it's no wonder you feel as though a big black cloud is following you.

I suffer severe sleep problems so I know how difficult it is to cope with everyday life when you feel so shattered; to be coping with your current problems as well must be exhausting. Thank goodness you have your counsellor - with whom I hope you are sharing your feelings.

The fact that you struggle to muster any enthusiasm for your degree programme and that this is affecting you marks is hardly surprising. Have you spoken to your tutors and lecturers? Given this is a Psychology degree I would hope they would show some real understanding, and perhaps being able to help in a more positive way.

No doubt you are seeing your GP regularly as you are on some meds; have you spoken to him about anti-deps.?