PDA

View Full Version : Psychologist with health anxiety

Mark501
15-10-15, 01:19
Firstly, I'd like to praise the owners of this site and those who use it. Networking is sometimes really helpful. I'm here to essentially 'vent'

I'm a psychologist. I don't practice but I have a PhD, and have been involved in a lot of research. I'm not going to offer anymore a miracle cure, so don't get your hopes up.

I've been suffering from generalised anxiety disorder (GAD), parented by health anxiety, for a few years now. Oh the irony, right? Well all I can say is that doctors get colds too! On a serious note, however, this controls my life, or at least a decent chunk of it before it goes into 'remission'. My health anxiety is the worst. I don't so much freak out over bodily sensations or the odd pimple, rather it's the fear of what isn't causing me symptoms that could be harming me that drives me crazy. The unknown is a terrifying place to be for the HA sufferer. I'll often talk myself into getting tested for things, even if there's a complete absence of rationale behind getting it done. Ring any bells? Borderlining diabetes can show no symptoms. I confirm this from various sources and so therefore believe that I should be tested, because I might have it. No one has proved I don't have it after all - I get tired at times when I normally shouldn't, and drink too much Pepsi - so it's a possibility, no, a likelihood! Now, being someone who understands mental health from a theoretical viewpoint, it doesn't spare me the utter irrationality I possess as a result of my anxiety, and believe me I know it's irrational, but don't we all? I know it's stupid, and I confirm it to myself, but it's an addiction. Just because you know you have a headache doesn't stop it from hurting.