PDA

View Full Version : What Meds Work for OCD?

GoWhiteSox
16-10-15, 15:36
Hello all-
I have posted quite a bit on the health anxiety board but this is my first time on the OCD board.

I have been working with a therapist for over 5 months and she feels strongly that i have been struggling with undiagnosed ocd my whole life. i do not disagree with this diagnosis.

im currently being treated for anxiety/depression with therapy, 75 mg venalfaxine, and .25 mg xanax which i've been taking once a day...

the xanax seems to be the only thing that helps my obsessive/intrusive thoughts..i dont want to take the xanax anymore for fear of getting addicted and my p-doc doesnt want me taking it daily either..i am meeting with him on tuesday for adjustment of meds...

i am wondering what success anyone has had with meds specifically for ocd..i am very hopeful and excited about finding one and living a life without constant intrusive and obsessive thoughts, but meds have a way of disappointing me..thanks for any input..

MyNameIsTerry
18-10-15, 06:38
Hi,

The OCD board is lot quieter than the HA one so I'm not sure you will get many replies to this. I don't feel I could help you with this as my success with the two meds I've been on has been good to poor and it's so individual that it can differ for us all.

NICE have made some recommendations for meds:

https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/cg031/chapter/1-guidance#steps-35-treatment-options-for-people-with-ocd-or-bdd

Current published evidence suggests that SSRIs are effective in treating adults with OCD

1.5.3.8 For adults with OCD, the initial pharmacological treatment should be one of the following SSRIs: fluoxetine, fluvoxamine, paroxetine, sertraline or citalopram

Other drugs

1.5.3.20 The following drugs should not normally be used to treat OCD or BDD without comorbidity:

tricyclic antidepressants other than clomipramine

tricyclic-related antidepressants