PDA

View Full Version : Red patch on hand skin cancer worries

Rebecca10
20-10-15, 20:26
Hi

I've had a bit of a fear of skin cancer for a while now..it started last year when a black dot just seemed to appear on my hand from out of nowhere..went to the doctors and she didn't know what it was so referred me to a dermatologist which freaked me out! Turned out to be nothing more than a tiny blood blister which I can laugh at now..

Now I've discovered a little red flat patch on the back of my hand - been there a few months and not changed from what I can tell. Stupidly I was reading about superficial basal cell carcinoma which presents itself as a red scaly patch apparently... so now I'm freaking out again. Booked an appointment with the doctor on Monday.

I'm not a sunbather but I'm very pale. Pale skin, blue eyes and blonde hair..I also travel for a living but I always wear spf 50 and I can only think of one time in my life where I burnt badly on my chest but other than that I'm pretty careful. I just don't know what else it could be because it's just a little red patch that doesn't seem to be fading!

lofwyr
20-10-15, 21:08
I had a mole that went crazy. Looked very much like nodular melanoma, and the doc even thought it was. Biopsy came back benign, however, so the point I am making is that I share your fear, and awareness of our skin.

I also know skin does a lot of weird stuff, much of which could sound and even look like skin cancer, but which mostly is not. There are a lot of reasons skin can have red, scaly patches, the vast, vast majority of which are benign. If it has not changed, I cannot imagine it being a worry, but you could always go to the doc and get it looked at to be safe.

Rebecca10
20-10-15, 21:22