PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another New Panic Attack Sufferer

Smarteenie
14-02-07, 22:03
Hi there. I'm very new to all this but can't tell you how relieved I am to have found this site. I felt like I was the only one going through this and everyone else thought I was bonkers.

Anyway, it all started in August last year when I was with the kids during the summer holidays and for some bizarre reason the attacks started off happening in the car and then became more and more frequent until I virtually became housebound and petrified. I felt really bad for the kids (felt really bad anyway!) because I felt completely useless. Anyway, after a really embarrassing episode with an ambulance I went to my GP who has put me on anti-ds. I was gutted at first as I was put on them two years ago for postnatal depression and I felt I had failed. Anyway, after four weeks of taking them I began to feel 'normal' and never looked back. I have started yoga, upped my exercise and am going through counselling.

However, my GP wants to take me off medication in March and I have to say I am absolutely petrified. Will they start again? How do I cope if they do?

Well, anyway, I just wanted to say how great it was reading your messages and knowing that I am not alone.

Thanks.:)

manmoor
14-02-07, 23:28
Hi Smarteenie,

A big warm welcome to you.

"When There Was Only One It Was Then That I Carried You."

lizzie29
15-02-07, 09:45
Hi Smarteenie

Welcome to the site, hope you find lots of good support and advice.
Don't feel like you've failed by going back on tablets, the fact that you're getting through life and asked for help is a big achievement in itself.