PDA

View Full Version : Going through an anxious episode

mlondon
04-11-15, 21:21
Hi all. I've had anxiety for 7 years and tend to go through a big anxious episode every 3 - 6 months. What often happens is my anxiety slowly begins to build up and up but I usually feel like I am on top of it as this point. Then suddenly it intensifies. I have had lots going on recently - study, work, family visiting and I also have another big 6 months of visitors (I live in Australia) and study (I am doing a PhD) and work. I found out that work wants me to travel for 2 months next year to remote places, this I think was the tipping point. Even though I really want to do it, I am also scared, don't want to leave my partner and am not sure how I am going to get everything done. Before a big episode of anxiety comes my stress levels build and I begin to lose sight of the fun in things, even things which are meant to be fun become a chore which I next to tick off the list. This combined with a big weekend involving drinking and Halloween which I am not a massive fan of accumulated in a big panic attack yesterday.

This is how I felt- I couldn't breath properly, I had to get out of the house and be in a place where there were people so I could be 'safe', I felt dizzy, my body trembled and my skin tingled, I wanted to throw up, I felt in a spacey haze, I felt detached, exhausted, confused, I had racing thoughts, felt like I was going mad or going to die. After the first major episode that came and went all day. I stayed at uni as there were people around until my partner got home.