PDA

View Full Version : Will I be dismissed at work?

GirlAfraid23
24-11-15, 11:43
I started the job in September (I work in a school - a nursery).
The first month, I had a sickness bug and couldn't stop throwing up and had diarrhoea over the weekend, I went to work on the Monday and they sent me home because I was sweating and kept running off to the toilet. I was off for a further day after that.

A few weeks ago, I came down with a chest infection which started as sinus irritation. I went to the doctors and told it was just a virus. I had two days off because I felt crap and went back to work.
I soon realised I shouldn't have gone back as I was constantly coughing and felt weak and tired.
I carried on for another week then last Friday I woke up with a sharp pain in my ribs when I took a deep breath. It also hurt to move and coughing/sneezing was excruciating. I went into work but broke down in tears when I got there, I was sent home.
I still have these symptoms (the pain - sleeping and laying down is unbearable) I went to the doctors and was told I likely have bruised my ribs. Nothing they can do. Just to rest it.
On a second lot of antibiotics for the cough - I'm still coughing so the pain isn't getting better as its aggravating it each time.
I called in sick yesterday and I don't think I will be able to go back until next week and even then I'll have to see if I can be signed off work. Going back to docs on Friday.

I'm really worried I will be dismissed for having too much time off in such a short space of time but all the children have been coughing and so it must be going around.

---------- Post added at 11:43 ---------- Previous post was at 10:21 ----------

Someone please help :(

Randara
24-11-15, 11:50
Hiya, I was off sick at my last job a few times and when I had hit the trigger points (I.e. 6 days off in 3 months) then my manger and I had a meeting to discuss and to set out a plan on how to help.