PDA

View Full Version : Feel sick. Huge setback today

GirlAfraid23
07-12-15, 20:37
Went back to work today after 2 weeks off...had a doctor's note stating I had a chest infection. I still don't feel that great but I felt I should go back.

When I handed over the note this morning, the headteacher (I work in a school) said she will need a meeting with me because it has triggered something on the system. I also had another two days off at the end of September due to a sickness bug.

I tried not to worry about it but on the way out before home time, I saw her again and mentioned the meeting and asked when it would be taking place. She said she will organise it in the next day or so. I said to her "is it anything to worry about?" She said "no, it's just protocol."
I made a joke and said something like "I don't want a red mark against my name or anything!" She said "not yet".

Now I thought she was joking at first but she wasn't laughing. Surely she wouldn't have said that if she was being serious? Wouldn't she be a bit more professional? I feel sick to my stomach :( my anxieties are at an all time high.

I hope it's not going to be a dismissal or something? :( :( or a telling off. I can't help being poorly :(

Can anyone offer any help or advice?

---------- Post added at 20:37 ---------- Previous post was at 17:39 ----------

Anybody :(

uru
07-12-15, 21:13
They won't fire you over it. I think that's illegal.

MissyMischief
07-12-15, 21:14
I understand your anxiety...of course you don't want to lose your job. But it really does sound like protocol to me. You probably have a set number of sick days and you're reaching the limit or something like that. Your boss wants to meet with you because she has to, it's in the job description.