PDA

View Full Version : Worried I may have cancer.

TLM
09-12-15, 13:40
Hi. A few months ago (Maybe around September, I don't remember too well) I had discovered a lump on the side of my neck, it moves when I touch it and such, so I thought it'd just been an enlarged lymph node (That's the right term, correct?) However, it's not gone away, and I'm really worried it may be cancer, I've not had any tests and such, because I think I'm overreacting. I am ill currently, so it's not unlikely that it's a lymph node, but the thing is, it's been enlarged like that for longer than I have been sick!

Fishmanpa
09-12-15, 15:13
I'm a Head and Neck Cancer survivor. Cancer is an uncontrolled growth of abnormal cells. It doesn't come and go nor does it stop once it starts. The cancerous nodes in my neck were fixed, hard and immobile and grew. The fact that your's are mobile and haven't increased noticeably bodes well. I'm not a doctor so if you're that concerned, see your GP.

POsitive thoughts

CoraB
09-12-15, 19:49
Thanks for that Fishmanpa. If you don't mind could I ask do you suffer from bad health anxiety? One of my fears is that if I ever did get diagnosed with anything I will simply not be able to cope or deal with it at all. I fear I would be driven to suicide and hurt my family seeing me in such distress. How did you cope with the diagnosis and has it changed your health anxiety getting through such an ordeal?

Fishmanpa
09-12-15, 20:20
Thanks for that Fishmanpa. If you don't mind could I ask do you suffer from bad health anxiety?