PDA

View Full Version : Lost a Dear Friend Today :(

Fishmanpa
30-12-15, 01:14
I logged onto FB this morning and saw a post that took me by surprise. Going to this friends page I found out he passed suddenly yesterday. I'm gutted!

I met John when I worked in the car business. John and I became friends and I got to know him and his wife over the time we worked together. At that time I was going through a very rough time. I had just come out of my first heart attack, had lost everything due to the financial burden of a major illness without insurance and was really in a bad place. My truck got re-possessed and things were getting worse. John drove me back and forth to work for a couple of days and then invited me for dinner. He happened to have an old Ford station wagon in the driveway and after dinner he handed me the keys and said "Here, use it as long as you need to. Just keep the tank full".

John and his wife Liz threw me a lifeline and that lifeline allowed me to get on dry land and back on my feet.

Shortly thereafter, John's wife Liz got breast cancer. I did whatever I could to help him. There wasn't much I could do but be there for him as he was for me. It was a rough road but she recovered and is a survivor.

John left the car business as did I and out lives took on different paths but we never remained out of touch. While we didn't see each other often we did stay in touch. My last correspondence was a Merry Christmas note a couple of days before the holiday. He was a Minister for teens and had a heart of gold. He touched many, many, many people including myself.