PDA

View Full Version : Am I overreacting?

Mrsh11
01-01-16, 13:50
It has been a while since I have been on here as I changed jobs last year which removed a major source of stress and my anxiety settled a bit. I work as a store manager as before but in a small town and generally like my job. It is a very rough area though with the highest crime rate in the city. I get on well with most everyone who comes in with the exception of our window cleaner. He is rude, aggressive, and makes me feel threatened. He always comes when my boss, the male store owner, is not in. He is also a 50 yr old street drinker and turns up when he is desperate for cash. Long story short he gave me a huge load of verbal abuse yesterday when I said I had no money to pay him New Year's Eve till the afternoon, he made some vague threats and said I was an evil person who thinks he is a heroin addict. This was pretty out of nowhere. I was upset and shaking. Now I feel to scared to go back to work but can't quit as I need the job, plus otherwise I like the job. I keep thinking he will be waiting to attack me, especially if he is drunk again. My husband thinks he is a loser and I'm overreacting a bit but I don't know how serious a threat he is or if my anxiety is making a verbal disagreement seem much more sinister.

Lucinda07
01-01-16, 16:08
Please go back to work, but tell your Boss everything which has happened.
If there was no cash to pay the window cleaner until yesterday afternoon, then he must accept it. He would have preferred to be paid earlier but no need to be verbally abusive & take it out on you. He's lucky to be given an opportunity.