PDA

View Full Version : My mum has to get a hip replacement.. I'm worried?

Masonn
07-01-16, 01:46
My mum just told me she has to get a hip replacement and I'm scared. I haven't googled anything and I don't want to cause I'll probably just find terrible stories. Does anyone here have any experience or know anything about hip replacement surgeries? Are they major or minor with big or small risks? Thanks

nivekc251
07-01-16, 05:21
I've assisted with some hip surgeries. It's a major orthopedic surgury, but it does that have many risks other than surgery in general. It's going to be painful but once it heals your mother will be pain free. Don't worry just make sure she does her research on the surgeons and hospital that she is going to.

Pigeon
07-01-16, 05:26
Hi Masonn,

I'm no medical expert but would say that although a hip operation is big and very uncomfortable, it's extremely common with 0000's carried out each day. I've not heard of any major risks associated with it, but I just looked at the NHS website which says the risk of serious complication (all surgery carries some degree of risk) is considered to be low at less than 1 in 100 people.

The complications include things like one leg ending up longer than the other or wearing out and needing replacement- not pleasant but not life threatening either.

I know two people who have had it - both in their 70's and one who has other health problems. Both came through it very well - although one walks with a bit of a limp - you've guessed it - he has one leg SLIGHTLY longer than the other now!:doh: My daughter is an ODP (a sort of theatre nurse) and she assists at ops like these all the time.