PDA

View Full Version : Swollen / painful lymph nodes - anxiety?

CoraB
13-01-16, 09:47
I need some help and reassurance badly here. I'm pretty sure I've got swollen lymph nodes in my neck and armpits. They're tender to press, particularly under my armpits but the only one I can definitely feel is in my neck.

I've read quite a bit about this being somethig people with anxiety report quite a lot. My health anxiety is the worst it's ever been at the moment there are few times I actually feel ok, normally I am feeling shaky, aches and pains, dizzy and really fatigued. I'm not at the drs for a week and struggling.

Anyway, I was just wondering how many of you guys have the tender/swollen lymph nodes too and do you think this is part of the body's defence against the panic?

KeeKee
13-01-16, 10:13
I'm no expert but when your nodes are sore it usually indicates an infection. As I seldom Google these days (except over Christmas which destroyed my Christmas grrrr) so I'm not 100% but sure I once read swollen lymph nodes related to cancer aren't painful. I know loads of people at the moment who are coming down with the cold.

CoraB
13-01-16, 13:13
Mine definitely hurt so I suppose that's kind of reassuring! I'm just terrified it's cancer spreading. Had to get back in bed this morning and just sleep I was so so tired and as soon as I wake up there's the anxiety shaking again. I know the anxiety is making everything a lot worse.

Fishmanpa
13-01-16, 13:28
Certainly, high stress biology can incite a reaction in a lymph node but most of the time if they swell, it's due to some infection or virus or anything else that cause our body to fight back.

In your situation, I truly feel it's due to possibly some reaction and poking and prodding... And yes, nodes will react to that. A swollen node is pretty obvious and one doesn't have to dig around to find them I assure you.