PDA

View Full Version : Unsure of my future

SJM13
13-01-16, 16:52
Hi
I haven't been on this forum for a very long time and had hoped I wouldn't need to again.
I am a 50 yr old nurse and have had 3 episodes of depression and anxiety over the last 5 years. I have managed to recover from the last bout 2 yrs ago and had been pretty well so decided to come off Venlafaxine in the summer. Well At the end of November I became extremely anxious and couldn't get to work and consequently became depressed and filled with self loathing.
I had even off work 5 weeks and felt as if I could get back, managed to get into work Monday for 4 hrs and was due to go today. I have had panic attacks all morning and eventually my husband had to ring to say I was unable to work as I couldn't even get out the front door!!!
I feel such a failure, I have been working hard with my private psychotherapist and thought I could do it!
Not sure whether I have in me to do this anymore! Going to work on Monday made my stress levels rocket out of control. I feel I am unable to do my job safely. I have had breast cancer 11 yrs ago with chemo, radiotherapy and extensive surgery. Believe me that was a million times easier than what I am going through at the moment.

venusbluejeans
13-01-16, 17:01
Hiya SJM13 and welcome to NMP :welcome:

Why not take a look at our articles on our home page, they contain a wealth of information and are a great starting place for your time on the forum.

I hope you find the as site helpful and informative as I have and that you get the help and support you need here and hope that you meet a few friends along the way :yesyes:

uru
13-01-16, 18:46
Welcome!!!

lior
13-01-16, 19:59
Oh darling. I'm so sorry to hear all this.

I know how that feels. I was off work.