PDA

View Full Version : Other people's opinions holding me back from what I want to do

white1989
16-01-16, 15:57
I've always been worried about what Other people think of me from a very young age and I think that's just a part of my anxiety. I've began to notice over the last few years that I'm incredibly worried about what people think of me. Since leaving uni 4 years ago, I'm constantly comparing myself to friends and worrying that my life isn't as good as theirs, mainly to do with jobs etc. I'm always looking at uni friends' lives on Facebook and thinking I'm totally inadequate; I have a good degree from a good university and I know I'm intelligent and have a good job now but it's not what I want to do and it doesn't make me happy. There's so much pressure to feel like I need to keep up with my uni friends and have an amazing job that's really well paid and do all the amazing things I see them doing on social media. The reality is that my life is totally different to theirs because of my anxiety condition, I don't travel and go out anymore like I used to and I don't really do anything without my partner or family because my anxiety just doesn't allow it. I'm always worrying what people are saying about me, that my old 'friends' that I don't see anymore are saying that I'm ignorant and rude and never bother with anyone other than my boyfriend, but I know it's because they don't understand what I'm going through and I shouldn't let their opinions bother me.