PDA

View Full Version : Does exercise actually help?

sl1nky
19-01-16, 21:13
I always see in anxiety-aid articles that exercise actually helps, I'm wondering if anyone out there has actually experienced this?

Before developing my anxiety disorder, I went through a rough patch with my ex, separation etc, I found my self working out intensely at 2-4am in the morning 5/7 days a week for most of 8 months up until I developed my anxiety disorder. But now I'm so physically and mentally drained it's hard to even do 30+ minutes of cardio every 2 days, I've been doing that for the most of 2 years now and I'm really not feeling any benefits...

sarahsarah
19-01-16, 22:28
i can only speak from my own experience but swimming has certainly helped me with my anxiety issues. Not only do I feel both mentally and physically better after a swim, I think the time in the pool where I can't look at my phone/ iPad or be contacted by anyone does me the world of good. My overall level of fitness has much improved and I do feel a lot better in myself.

Having said that, I think you really have to be careful not to overdo it and not to beat yourself up if you don't exercise as often as you'd like to. I got to the point where the pool I go to was closed for one day and rather than enjoy that as a day off, I went twice the day before to make up for it. I'm a bit better than that and aim for 4/5 times a week now and am happy to have a full week off on the odd occasion.