PDA

View Full Version : Health professional with health anxiety

Ninelives
26-01-16, 22:14
I would really like some support. I am a highly qualified health professional suffering the secret burden of health anxiety. I feel ridiculous and find it really hard to seek help with my anxiety or when I want to see someone about my symptoms in case they think I am wasting time. I suffer in silence and don't go more than a few days free of worry. When one worry stops as if by magic another one starts, why is this??
My sister suffers the same and I can talk to her but no one else.
I feel that I am going to die any time ( I don't know why !) and constantly worry about my 3 children being ill or me leaving them. My husband isn't very sympathetic and does not know the extent of my problem.
I even worry that something will happen to me eventually as I can't worry and none of it ever come true, can anyone identify with this ?
Some advice would really help.

Gary A
26-01-16, 22:41
Do you mind me asking which field of medicine you work in?

PlantsForHire
26-01-16, 22:58
I would really like some support. I am a highly qualified health professional suffering the secret burden of health anxiety. I feel ridiculous and find it really hard to seek help with my anxiety or when I want to see someone about my symptoms in case they think I am wasting time. I suffer in silence and don't go more than a few days free of worry. When one worry stops as if by magic another one starts, why is this??
My sister suffers the same and I can talk to her but no one else.
I feel that I am going to die any time ( I don't know why !) and constantly worry about my 3 children being ill or me leaving them. My husband isn't very sympathetic and does not know the extent of my problem.
I even worry that something will happen to me eventually as I can't worry and none of it ever come true, can anyone identify with this ?
Some advice would really help.