PDA

View Full Version : Trying to cope with husband with anxiety.

Wooly
27-01-16, 10:15
Hi All
This is my first time on this forum because I think I'm going to need some help getting through this year trying to cope with and help my husband with anxiety.

He has always suffered from anxiety but it used to be centred around social anxiety, this has improved greatly in the last few years and we have enjoyed a good period without it being an issue.

His anxiety now though has switched to our house - it is an older house with all the issues that come with that. It has a damp problem on the gable end which over 10 years has got worse affecting the kitchen. We have known that it is an issue that would need a lot of work so we had been putting it off.

However - In August we had a unrelated leak in the toilet plumbing which has sent my husband into a downward spiral of anxiety that is still going on now. We had that leak fixed very quickly although it did cause some damage on the ceiling below. Since that leak he has been constantly checking the plumbing, fixings, bath seals, woodwork, damp etc and as it is a old house he is often finding problems large or small. Each issue he finds brings on a panic attacks which can be all consuming.

One example was when he checked a bolt that fixs the toilet to the floor (not a very important one) it was so corroded it disintegrated. This caused a panic attack. It is out only toilet and even though it was still usable and safe he was convinced that it would fall through the ceiling. I had to drive him 15 miles to the nearest public toilets before bedtime, he then left extremely early for work in the morning after very little sleep to use their facilities.