PDA

View Full Version : Please help, awful work situation and need advice

GirlAfraid23
27-01-16, 13:20
I haven't been on here in a while, but started a new job in September. It all started off fairly well, everyone was friendly and I thought all was fine.
Anyway, fast forward a few months & I've been bullied and singled out at work. Certain people keep picking up on what I'm doing and acting as though I'm incapable.
Then the final straw, I was called into the headteacher's office (I work in a school) and was told an "accusation" had been made against me...that I had said something terrible to the child I work one to one with. Of course I didn't say it and wouldn't dream of saying anything like it.
I broke down crying in her office and was absolutely devastated that anybody would say that about me.
I'm now so paranoid they will make up something worse about me, I just couldn't take that.

I couldn't go into work today, so I called in sick this morning.
I have a GP appointment at 4pm this afternoon when I am going to try and get signed off as I can't go in, I just can't do it. I'm not a strong enough person. I've been ignored and treated very badly for months now. This is the cherry on the cake! :(

I'm still in my probation period and I'm so worried they will dismiss me before I hand in my notice as they've already had to warn me about my absence. I had a chest infection & pleurisy before Christmas and a sickness bug a few months before that.
Can I hand in my notice while I'm on sick leave? How does it work? I feel sick about calling in and telling them I've been signed off (if the GP agrees!).
I don't want it to hinder my chances of getting another job in the future.

oxford74
27-01-16, 14:08
Sadly this happens way to much in education, I work in a secondary school where you are made to feel as if you are letting the whole world down if you take time off.