PDA

View Full Version : Panic and Despair

art_james
26-02-07, 16:54
Hi, all another newbie here. Not so new to panic though. I awoke on Saturday to a panic attack for the first time in a number of years (first 5 years ago, last 3). I suppose I should have seen it comming...recently splitting up with my girlfriend, moving in to a place (leaving behind cat!), un settled, stressful job, boozy friends, not eating well or excercising. Yep, I suppose I should have seen it coming.

It's really hit me hard this time. Mainly because I thought I was over it. I spent the whole weekend in floods of tears and despair because of it's return (last time i had it , had had one long six month panic attack that and then ocd). I felt helpless. I'm fortunate in as much as I have friends and family that understand and try to help.

I can deal with the actual physical symptoms of the panic attack itself, but what i find unbearable is that when i have a panic attack i feel utterly isolated, alone and hopeless - a real dark void. This obviously goes when the PA does, but it's such a traumatic experience i can't quite get over it.

So my question is this: Is this a normal part of PA's? Does this happen to others? And if so, how do you 'ride out' looking in to the abyss?

Ta,

James

kimmy
26-02-07, 18:05
Hi
If you can try to think positive.......you over come it before.....you can again!!

IzzyB
27-02-07, 10:35
Hi James
I'm here in similar circumstances to you; i.e. suffered several years ago but been right as rain since... until now!
I can also relate to the "seeing it coming" that you described. I was feeling like a crab without a shell for several months, and things made me jump all the time, motorbikes whooshing up beside the car and people at work coming up behind me whilst I was on the phone are worst.