PDA

View Full Version : I have an idea which I think could help people

cje.churchill
28-01-16, 16:18
I am 29 year old guy and for the past 6 years I have had debilitating social anxiety and have been diagnosed with GAD. I have been mostly isolated during all of this time and have felt incredibly alone which got me thinking about an idea which could help myself and others.

I am a web and graphic designer and my idea is to create a free app which is much like Facebook, only for people with mental and physical illnesses.
People could search for oher people by their illness, age, gender, location, etc... So they can find someone who they can truly connect with and then add them to their friends list to help and support eachother. You could build up a strong network around you of people who really know what you are going through and help eachother., discuss medications, share self help articles or books, etc. There would be news feeds/time lines, profile pages, messaging, and notifications of likes and comments/replies.

I really like this concept and I think it would help myself and others a lot. Of course I am biased, so I want to know if others think it is a good idea and would you use it?

Rubymegan
28-01-16, 16:52
Hi. I think this is a fantastic idea! I'm sure I saw something about this on facebook recently within a 'Time To Change' post > was this also you ? One of the major problems with anxiety & depression is the isolation it causes. It makes you withdraw from people when you need them the most so anything that cuts through that as an App would can only be a good thing.

TalkTonight
28-01-16, 17:18
Hi cje

As someone who hasn't logged onto my Facebook account in many moons, I think your idea could prove very marketable.