PDA

View Full Version : How to keep calm about shortness of breath?

Ditapage
30-01-16, 05:31
I occasionally get this sensation of being short of breath but I can breathe easy from my diaphragm and I can talk. But one of the more alarming sensations is I start to feel either lightheaded or sleepy and my chest feels heavy. Now, when I googled those symptoms it's classified as a medical emergency! My question is does anyone else feel this way (without having an actual panic attack) and how do you keep yourself from panicking that it's something apart from anxiety?

To give an example, I was at work the other day and this breathless feeling hit me and I was able to talk and breathe but I work in a store and walking around made me feel lightheaded and tired. But it wasn't an acute panic attack either.

I had to take diazepam to prove to myself it was anxiety.

For people with this symptom, what assures you that you're OK? I never know whether to tell someone I need medical help.

Shazamataz
30-01-16, 05:48
Sounds like classic anxiety. Did the diazepam make a difference?

I've done the same thing when I'm not sure if I'm anxious. If the diazepam makes the symptoms go away then it's anxiety.

Ditapage
30-01-16, 05:59
I just wish I knew why I was getting this feeling. My brain immediately goes to lung cancer especially since feeling weak and tired is a symptom. Of course that just makes the breathlessness worse. But I CAN breathe. I try to tell myself if I wasn't able to breathe it would be obvious to people around me.

I keep burping like something is stuck in the middle of my chest.

I am trying to get off Diaz :( but I'll take anything to make the breathless feeling subside.

Have you felt sleepy/weak/heavy chest with this?

Shazamataz
30-01-16, 10:26
I have Chronic Fatigue so I always feel week and tired.

I've had a bad chest off and on since August last year but have had xrays etc and by all accounts everything is fine.