PDA

View Full Version : I have an appointment with a therapist

.Poppy.
01-02-16, 18:45
If you check out my recent threads, you can see I've been struggling really badly at the moment. I'm rather terrified of the medication I've been taking, and have this compulsion to blame all my problems on it, but some piece at the center of me doesn't think that's really accurate -- I've had these problems before, they're just back because I have a trigger now to blame things on.

Anyway, I am just so scared and having trouble motivating myself to do much of anything really. If I absolutely HAVE to do something I will, but if there is any choice I can't find the strength to do it so I think I need help.

I haven't talked to my parents yet - they're supportive but I'm not good at opening up to them about this stuff and never have been - so I booked an appointment with a therapist at my school as I can see her without having to get their insurance (and consequently them) involved.

I'm absolutely terrified that she's not going to be able to help me or that she's going to think I'm being melodramatic - I don't know. I feel like I NEED to open up and be totally honest but have never really done that before and am introverted/shy so I know it's going to be really, really hard.

Any advice?

Lucinda07
01-02-16, 18:49
This lady will have received thorough training and will not consider you melodramatic. She will be used to counselling young people & be patient & encouraging. Many of us are shy so please don't be afraid!

Fishmanpa
01-02-16, 19:03
First off, it's absolutely awesome and brave to take these steps. Far too many don't IMO. Your anxiety doesn't want you to do this because it feels threatened so it's talking back to you telling you nonsense ;)

Go, just go. You'll do just fine I'm sure. Print out some of your threads to take along if you feel a bit inhibited.

Positive thoughts

.Poppy.
01-02-16, 23:11