PDA

View Full Version : So Scared - please help

LeslieW11
03-02-16, 23:18
Hi everyone. I'm new to this message board but not to health anxiety or panic disorder. Had panic attacks in my 20's which finally resolved and now that I am taking an SSRI (Celexa) have had no further episodes. However what I have suffered from over the years is anxiety and fear about my health which was exacerbated by losing my parents from cancer when they were in their 60's. My experience over the years has been that whenever I have troubling symptoms, I catastrophize and fear my symptoms are caused by something like cancer, in particular pancreatic cancer or colon cancer because of what took my parents.

Fast forward to this last November, when after an annual physical, I learned that I have Diabetes 2 (A1C of 6.5). Since my father had this as well about a year before he passed away from pancreatic cancer, it concerned me and I saw a GI doctor and had an MRI with dye - which came back negative. I had also had a CAT scan with dye the previous year due to elevated blood sugar worries. Although I had been feeling pretty healthy prior to all of this, I suddenly started to develop a feeling of abdominal tightness and tugging in my stomach. Now I know that I can somatasize, so tried not to panic over all of this. My GI doc ran another test - an endoscopy and ultrasound - and found nothing (although fatty deposits made it difficult for him to view my pancreas). He suggested I be evaluated for other possible causes of my discomfort - ie heart and lung.