PDA

View Full Version : Work anxiety/stress and mornings

jadedreams
05-02-16, 19:20
Hey guys, still working on my anxiety. Had a couple of questions to run by you. I notice that when things get stressful at work (I'm a computer analyst) my anxiety goes up a lot. I know this is probably to be expected, but just looking for tips to handle it better. I get in this mode where I know I'm catastrophizing but can't seem to stop it. This might be my thoughts - "this program/server/whatever is broken, I'm too anxious to think straight, I can't fix it, I can't do my job, I'm going to get fired, my anxiety will keep me from working, I'm worthless." That may not be an exact train of thought, but pretty close, I need to stop this spiral. I don't feel as productive anyway right now with the anxiety (though I've had no complaints and did just get a raise) but this isn't helping when I get stressed.

My other thing is I still have higher anxiety in the mornings, it seems to happen so soon after waking (usually early before the alarm) that the anxiety kicks in. My chest will feel funny, my heart will race, my stomach might clench and I began to dread the day. By evenings my anxiety will be lower and I am looking forward to sleep. I fall asleep ok usually which is a blessing, but usually wake up a few times. I just really wish I could get my morning anxiety down, I think it would help a lot. It happens both on work days and weekends so whatever day it is doesn't matter. The anxiety in the morning makes it hard to look forward to anything which is really difficult and I'm sure a lot of you deal with this as well.

Thanks for your help and support as always.

Istherehope?
05-02-16, 23:06