PDA

View Full Version : If Acceptance is the answer, I'm feeling hopeless

Ditapage
01-03-16, 01:28
Both my psychologist and the books I've been reading say acceptance is the cure. That I have to feel the symptoms/feel the fear and stay where I am if GAD is ever going to stop ruling my day.

So with that advice I set out. I drove 10 minutes to the library. On the drive there I felt OK. It's amazing that despite having anxiety I am still a conscientious safe driver. If anxiety was affecting my driving I definitely would be doing the safe thing and staying off the road.

As I walked from the car park to the library, I started feeling abit light headed and then came the "what if you faint?!" thought. I brushed it aside with "even if I do faint inside there are people around and it's not a big deal." Good. I went into the library.

As I am wandering around I realize I can't look for books, I'm way too inward focused, I feel like my head is swimming, I feel weak and then came the thoughts that it's not anxiety, it's medical, I'm not safe, all these thoughts that make it impossible for me to accept I'm just feeling anxiety and I have to pass through it.

I grabbed some books and got out of there. I had NOT accepted. I had feared the symptoms and doubted their cause and wanted to get home before "something" happened. I was once again able to drive home SAFELY.

How the hell does one accept its just anxiety when you feel so terrible and your surroundings seem so threatening? It doesn't matter how many times I feel these sensations, THIS TIME it's not anxiety and that prevents acceptance or staying put.

And once again I'm back at home terrified to move. My only success was that I stayed long enough to get some books about CBT. But how do you, personally, accept!? Especially when you still entertain thoughts that it's not just anxiety?

Chocolateface
01-03-16, 02:11