PDA

View Full Version : Struggling at work, think fixed hours would be better

ADW
02-03-16, 08:18
I work as a nurse 3-4 long days a week, so that's 7am until 7.30pm. And also nights as well on the same hours. I really struggle with my anxiety and depression on night shifts and have had to call in sick for a few over the last 8 months. I am now due a HR meeting due to my time off sick. I also struggle with being given all sorts of shifts on different days each week. I find routine really helps me. I am dreading my manager and HR will tell me I'm unfit to do the job but it's taken me a long time to realise I am a good nurse and I do love my job I don't want to loose it. I feel let down...when i had a breakdown last summer and had a month of work I was told occupational health wouldn't even see me as they didn't have time! I feel like all of this is my fault and I'm rubbish for having to take days off sick. :( I also know that you have to have a really good reason to be given set shifts and I know work are fed up with me and won't understand. Just feeling really awful at the moment as well which isn't helping, i recently had surgery which i think has put me back a bit and now I'm stressed about the risk of losing my job.

Chocolateface
02-03-16, 13:43
Have you got a union rep to take to the meeting with you as you should be allowed one, if you feel set hours would help your health then there has to be a duty of care to allow you to do this, can you offer a compromise where you work weekends or do nights once a month. Hope it goes well for you

Clare

ADW
02-03-16, 13:48
Hi, thanks for the reply. I'm not sure who my union rep is but yes I would be willing to work whatever set hours were most convenient and I could probably manage 1 night every couple of weeks. I just feel like im going to be pused out of work but someone said they can't do that as I'm probably covered under the disability discrimination act. 😕

wabbit1
03-03-16, 06:15