PDA

View Full Version : absolutely, positively, terrified of throat/tonsil cancer

manda95
09-03-16, 17:33
Hi there, everyone.

This is my first time posting on any kind of forum. I don't mean any disrespect towards anyone who has or had cancer, I'm just looking for advice, and (hopefully) some reassurance...

First of all, I'm a 20 year old female, about 140lbs, 5'2.
I DON'T smoke anything, never truly have, except for maybe a HANDFUL of times, including marijuana. I drink on occasion, but hardly ever get drunk. Please don't scold me for that...

Anyway, about 2 and 1/2 years ago, I noticed this very specific sore spot on the left side of my throat, near my tonsil area, but lower than the tonsils you can see.. it's hard to pinpoint. I don't remember if it was accompanied by an all over sore throat, but I don't think I was "sick". I went to the doctors and was prescribed some sort of antibiotic, and eventually it went away. However, for the past 2 and 1/2 years, it has come and gone. About a year and a half ago I went to the doctors again, this time the sore was definitely accomapined by an excruciating sore throat. Again, I was prescribed an antibiotic, and that obviously went away.

However the specific sore spot still comes and goes. I can't really describe the pain, its like a deep pain. Its not always there, but when it comes, it's usually for a few minutes at most. I'll almost have "flare ups" that last a week or two, which gives me the feeling of an inflamed throat, only on the left side. I can swallow my food fine, but sometimes it feels like stuff gets a little stuck. I've never chocked, usually just swallow it down with some water and I'm okay.

Sometimes my throat clicks when I swallow. This has happened only a few of times, usually lasts a week or so.