PDA

View Full Version : The REAL Health Anxiety Saga!

Silverspork
12-03-16, 00:34
Hello all,

Just signed up here, but I have been browsing these forums for a few years now, reading about other folk's situations.....trying to relate and also getting some solace in reading other people's stories.

History

I'm a 30 year old male, geologist, in good shape (been lifting weights 4-5x per week for 10 years or so), great family, great friends, awesome girlfriend, etc......everything should be in place for me to be content with my life.......

.....but I am not. I was diagnosed with depression sometime in high school, and put on Zoloft. I have been on and off SSRI's since then, currently I take 30mg Celexa. I see a psychiatrist now, and was also prescribed 25mg Seroquel for sleep. Prior to seeing the psychiatrist, I had only been treated by GP's. She (psychiatrist) does not believe I am really depressed - I have dysthymia and GAD. I believe the GAD is the root of my dysthymia. I also think I have OCD, developed as a result of my health anxiety and the compulsion to check things obsessively (like feeling my lymph nodes 100+ times a day, staring at the inside of my mouth in the mirror with a flashlight for an hour at a time looking at things, etc.).

I was also diagnosed with ADD (so officially, I have ADD, dysthymia, and GAD), which makes sense because I have always found it tough to sit still and do normal ''desk work'', which is why I guess I became a geologist (I'm outside a lot and being active, specially during the first years of my career).