PDA

View Full Version : Are These Persistent Symptoms Really Caused By GAD?

MizukiiMoon
19-03-16, 11:57
Hello! I'm new to the forum. I wasn't sure whether to post this topic under symptoms, or GAD, but figured symptoms would be more fitting.

*LONG POST*

I'm not very good at these things lol But will try and explain as best I can, and hope that people can relate to what I'm experiencing!

I'm a 24 year old female with Asperger's Syndrome. I have extreme health anxiety, and was finally diagnosed with GAD last month. I have been massively anxious my entire life, any kind of noise, lights, pain, health issue, sets me off. It wasn't until I was 11 though, shortly after I hit puberty, my symptoms and major health worries started. It was thought to have been triggered by being severely bullied at school, and nearly having a breakdown and having to be home educated it was so bad.

I have an eye phobia. At 11 I started going to the opticians regularly because I would have 'flashing lights' 'misty vision' 'wobbly vision' 'small eyesight' you name it. But my eyesight itself even to this day has always been perfect and nothing has ever showed up. But each symptom would always go away with time and weren't what I call extreme.
The same year, 2003, I also developed vertigo. I would be bed ridden for a week at times with everything spinning. And at times I would very often get dizzy putting my head down to wash my hair, or turning over in bed at night, etc. But within a week, I would be fine and the symptoms subsided. I do believe I have an ear condition, which I inherited from my Mother. She went 4 years of not being able to go outside the front door in her 30's due to Meniere's.