PDA

View Full Version : Sink and drain unblocker worry

phil06
20-03-16, 22:55
I bought this as my bath tub is blocked but too scared to use it says it can give off chemicals and poisons plus burns.

I'm worried if I leave it overnight and need the toilet I might die or something? I realise I could try non chemical solutions first tough.

ServerError
21-03-16, 02:44
Hi Phil. This is certainly one of the stranger concerns I've seen in my admittedly short time on these forums. Nevertheless, I'm sure it's a very real fear for you. I know how anxiety makes us suffer, so you deserve to be taken seriously.

I want to attempt to put your mind at rest, but I do want to give you a disclaimer first of all. I'm no expert in the ingredients these products contain, so somebody who knows more may interject and tell me I'm wrong in what I'm about to say. However, I feel you have nothing to worry about here.

Firstly, where did you buy the product? Is it a reputable brand? Did it come from a supermarket? If you did, that's your first clue that everything is probably going to be okay. While supermarkets do sell things that could potentially kill you (cola, chocolate, electrical products), they're not designed to and they're not in the business of trying to kill you. This applies even if you purchased it from somewhere else. As long as you didn't buy it from some kind of gang dealing in dodgy drain unblocker without a label, chances are you have an established, proven product.

Secondly, just think of the hundreds of thousands of people around the world pouring drain unblocker down their sinks and baths and coming to no harm. Why would it kill you when it's never killed me?