PDA

View Full Version : Agoraphobic travelling advice?

Jessmess
22-03-16, 18:50
Hi,

This is my first post so if I do something wrong then sorry! Lol.
I'm agoraphobic, emetophobic, I have severe panic attacks and crippling anxiety so yeah, life is great! 😂
I have an appointment with The Speakmans (the miracle workers on tv). I know many don't agree with their methods but they helped my friend with severe panic attacks and no longer has any issues after a 2 hour session.
So anyway, I have to travel to Manchester for the appointment. That's a 5 hour drive from me. I will be driving myself alone. This isn't dangerous for me don't worry, I'm a safe driver and have a lot of experience with driving and dealing with panic. But this doesn't make the panic easier. I know my driving is safe but I still don't want the panic! I feel safe in my car as I know I'm in control however I have not gone more than 10 miles away in about 8 months. 5 hours is terrifying! Does anyone have any advice? Maybe things to take with me ir do? I have managed to get a morning appointment so I can drive through the night. That way, I'm not over whelmed with thousands of cars or stuck in a traffic jam (my worst nightmare!). Another fear is I will have to stop for petrol etc. I can handle the attacks I just am really anxious thinking about them.

Phuzella
22-03-16, 18:58
Take your time. Have lots of stops in safe places as it's at night. Water, snacks have the radio on. I think you're very brave driving in the dark, well done:)

netminder1976
22-03-16, 19:03