PDA

View Full Version : Home alone and panicking

Ryan994
29-03-16, 12:48
I am a 21 year old student who lives at home and my family have left to go on holiday for a week; I am staying at home to do my dissertation.
I've never been the type of person who is independent and I couldn't even go to sleepovers as a kid. I didn't show any signs of negativity when in front of my family because I don't want them to worry and to enjoy their holiday, but I've been panicking so much being sick and crying the night before they left and after they left this morning, I have no appetite for food and it's making me even more sick.
I'm not very social and very reserved so I'm reluctant to ask for help and this is the first time I'm seeking help

Any encouragements and help would be greatly appreciated.

Hol1992
29-03-16, 15:21
when did they go away? all i can say is that you will feel better as the week goes on and wonder why you worried so much - its just because its out of the norm thats why your so anxious and your not used to being on your own - for now id say plug your earphones in play some up beat music and do the dissertation, the week will fly by and the next time you are staying at home alone you will know its not as bad as you think its going to be so wont work yourself up like this time

sorry if its not much help but you will be fine :)

Ryan994
29-03-16, 16:38
Thank you, your reply means so much to me. This is the first time I've reached out to someone and it makes me feel better knowing that someone is willing to help. I feel as though this panic is similar to the feeling when a child loses their parents in a shopping mall and falls into a state of panic.

I really appreciate your reply and it really makes me feel a lot better. I will take your advice to just focus on doing my dissertation and hopefully time will just fly by :)

MrsCav
29-03-16, 16:50