PDA

View Full Version : Even though I'm afraid to share this...

davidthegnome
06-03-07, 17:26
Even though I am afraid to share my story, I feel a strong desire to share it with you folks here. It is long, very long - and not all that pleasant, and you may despise me once I have told it, but I wish to all the same. The people here have really touched my heart in many ways, by being so empathetic and caring for others, despite their own trauma. I would also like to let you know that this post could be disturbing to some. I've never done this before, so please bear with me.

I was thirteen years old when my real trauma began. Oddly enough, for the first time in my life I was actually enjoying school, I even had friends. I had just moved to a smaller town in Stockholm Maine where I could go to a smaller school. Despite how I'd been treated at the larger one earlier, bullied, harassed, usually friendless and alone - I did well at Stockholm school, I made friends, something I wasn't sure I'd ever be good at.

Not meaning to bore you with too many details, just trying to paint a picture, a picture of a thirteen year old boy who for the first time in his life was starting to have confidence in himself. I had friends, I was liked, eventually somehow I even got a date with one of the prettiest girls in town. Don't know how, I was kind of chubby and always a bit nervous. For me, it was a big deal, my first date. In my thirteen year old mind, I felt like I was on top of the world.

Well, to sum up... I discovered rather quickly that this date of mine had only expressed an interest in me in order to get close to one of my friends. When I found out, I was really heartbroken, it shattered my newfound confidence. I was always a very shy, sensitive child and I think it may have effected me worse than it would others.