PDA

View Full Version : Why can't I get over the rumination?

LHPT25
07-04-16, 14:27
Since October last year I have been living with daily anxiety and rumination.

Around that time I had a lot on my plate, I hadn't taken any time off work in 7 months as I am self employed, out of nowhere my next door neighbour committed suicide, my cousin sustained a head injury and my wife was 6 months pregnant.

I also have a shoulder injury which causes tingling in the fingertips and weakness to my left arm. So all in all I can now see where my anxiety and stress came from.

Prior to this I was a highly functioning Personal Trainer, coaching 30 hours a week and taking classes with up to 40 people attending. I am still a personal trainer but doing a little less hours a week.

Since the doctors diagnosed me with GAD I have been through a whirlwind of thoughts, ruminations and worries. Did I mention I now have a beautiful 9 week old baby girl! Which is amazing but stressful and comes with a lack of sleep.

I often wonder just how bad my anxiety, depression and DP is as on a daily basis I mange to get about tasks, look after my daughter, provide for my wife and generally get on with things.

But there is a catch, I suffer terrible ruminations, depersonalisation symptoms, intrusive thoughts, panic attacks and self doubt. I can't enjoy things I used to and ultimately I feel like something within me has changed.

I have just started on escitralopram to dampen the anxiety and I have been seeing a CBT therapist since November. Often I do daily mediation and mindfulness.

Being a trainer I eat a healthy diet, lots of greens, protein and fresh foods. I don't drink alcohol and I exercise daily.

With all this said, I see that there is hope for me to recover, but how do you move on?

This is the first time I have posted on a forum as sometimes I think that reading and sharing stories encourages me to think about it (even though I always do)

Thanks,

Chocolateface
07-04-16, 19:24
Hi