PDA

View Full Version : I think that I could use some help.

RandomName22
16-04-16, 00:29
Hi,

I have never done this before, and I don't know what to type. But I think that I could be struggling with anxiety and depression. I don't feel comfortable in many social situations, and don't feel comfortable with my life at all, I'm feeling down most of the time, nothing really brings me that much joy any more, I just "do" things. I don't know is there is something wrong with me, or I'm just shy, and in a bad mood. I don't want to be unfair towards people who have an actual diagnosed condition, said, depression or anxiety.

I feel like some medicine would help, but I would like to be prescribed by doctor, which requires an appointment, and you have guessed it, I'm afraid to book one, or go to one after I would get one.

Apologies for my English. And I'm sorry if I'm posting in wrong section, or exaggerating my problems too much.

Pipkin
16-04-16, 02:31
Hi there and :welcome:

Well done for making the move and posting here. I know it's not easy at first but you've no need to worry about saying the wrong thing - we're a friendly bunch and we're here to support each other.

You've recognised they you might be suffering from anxiety. That's more important than you think as it takes others years to come to that conclusion. Indeed, some people never do. I know you're apprehensive about seeing your GP but it is the best thing for you to do. There are a lot of things which can help, including medication, as you've said. There's certainly no wonder pill which cures this and it takes us all a lot of hard work to get through it but you can. We've all either been where you are or we're still there, and sharing experiences can be really reassuring.