PDA

View Full Version : Health Anxiety and Panic Attacks just started

Cal83
18-04-16, 12:55
Hi,

I'm Caroline. I came here because I feel like I'm at the end of my tether. Taking a step back, life couldn't be sweeter but for some reason on Christmas Day I had my first panic attack. I'm a qualified mental health nurse (I don't practice in this field at present) so I knew what was happening to me. But it didn't make it any less terrifying. It started out feeling hungover which never used to be a problem. I was doing my make up and was convinced I could see my pupils dilating out of control. I stared harder at my eyes and was convinced I looked deranged. All of a sudden I felt like my skin was going to burst into flames, my heart raced and I fled the room calling for my Mum. She was great. She sat me down in the bathroom with the window open and told me everything was okay. By this point I was a quivering mess. I couldn't go back to the mirror in the bedroom to finish my make up because it felt like the place that had triggered it off so I went to another room, finished getting ready and went to a relatives house. For hours I felt awful. Drained, low in mood and a little bit hazy like I couldn't concentrate on what was going on around me. Eventually that afternoon I managed a nap and felt a lot better. That was the extent of it.