PDA

View Full Version : what if I DO ACT ON THESE THOUGHTS?!?!?!

up_n_down
08-03-07, 13:47
I just read this under the description of OCD, on this site:

"Aggression - Harming yourself. Harming loved one's or people in general. Blurting out insults and/or obscenities. Acting out unwanted impulses, such as running someone over or stabbing a person."

Does this mean I may actually HURT the people im so worried about hurting?!?! I heard that OCD sufferers dont actually act on these thoughts, they just consume them I guess. now im freaking out.

I keep having this fear that maybe, deep down, i could be some kind of wannabe-murderer who could be tipped over the edge one day and go on a killing rampage (im studying criminals, which may have something to do with it), and im really scared now that i might go and stab someone, but the worst thing would be if i felt pleasure doing it, which im worried i will. im so SO scared now. Please, someone tell me how to cope with this!!

PLEASE HELP ME!
Thanks in advance,

Up_n_Down
xx

Piglet
08-03-07, 14:27
Hi there,

These are thoughts and thoughts only and I myself have had them but please can I tell you that people who want to do these sort of acts don't worry about it first!!

The best thing to do to avoid the thoughts becoming more of an issue than they need to be is to tell yourself 'it's a silly thought so I will let it through so it can just float on away'.

Piglet :flowers:

ade
08-03-07, 14:50
hi,
you wont.its ocd.a condition.the reason we feel so close to the thoughts is the huge amount of anxiety that is attached to them,people who actually hurt others do not suffer that anxiety,quite the opposite.i know its horrible for you to have these thoughts,but please be reassurred,you have a medical condition,which can be helped and treated.a good book which helped me is "the imp of the mind" (try put it in google)
all the peace i can send you
kindest regards
ade x:)

Krakers
08-03-07, 15:21