PDA

View Full Version : I feel like I'm making progress (LONG READ)

ServerError
25-04-16, 23:08
Hi everybody.

I've been feeling much better of late, and I just wanted to share a few thoughts on how I feel I've got to this place. This will all be very subjective, but at the same time, I believe the path I've chosen can work for anyone (although some may have deeper seated issues than me). I'm no expert on mental health or treating anxiety disorders, so all I can do is share how I'm dealing with it and then if it helps anyone at all, that's great. Health anxiety is not the central theme of my condition. For me, it's more of a general feeling of unease and physical sickness. However, I post most frequently in here and you could probably come up with reasons why this doesn't belong in any of the different forums, so I'll put it here for now.

Anyway, just a short bit of background so you know what I've been up against. Basically, it all began with a really intense panic attack at work back in January. Unable to move on from the event, I continued to worry, to feel ill and to experience sensations of deep fear and panic. I was convinced I was seriously ill or dying. I've actually been an anxious person for my whole life, but this was the point at which it went from being something ordinary to something that was going to ruin my life. I couldn't get a straight answer about what was wrong with me. I ended up in hospital, expecting to be told it was a brain tumour or motor neurone disease or MS. Diabetes was ruled out by blood tests, which was good news, but given my diet, I couldn't believe it! The fact it wasn't diabetes actually left me a bit confused and more scared. There were times in hospital when I thought I was swallowing my tongue, losing sensation in my face, arms, legs etc. I thought I was a goner. Then they came and told me I had to go home.