PDA

View Full Version : Dealing with existential OCD

OCDBoy300
10-05-16, 11:50
Hi, all. This is my first time reaching out for help regarding my OCD. Due to my families stance on mental illness therapy and medication is just out of the question until I move out... So I've always felt like I've been on my own with this.

Currently I'm suffering a recent bad bout of obsessions relating around the idea of 'antinatalism', which is a philosophical position that states we should have never been born, essentially. Even with my issues I've always been happy with my life, and I love art and have a dream to become an artist someday... But with these thoughts It's become really difficult to just sit back and enjoy myself. I keep thinking 'I never asked to be born', even though I don't FEEL like that, and I'm like 'is this just denial? if i'm happy, i'm clearly in denial about things!'

I know this is classic OCD irrationality, but I'm having trouble finding ways to calm it. I don't want to keep reading about the philosophy, because it's always just an endless discussion between two people and neither side are right... I'm just afraid of losing hope and becoming someone like Thomas Ligotti, who has a very negative view of the world.

Has anyone dealt with something similar like this? I hope it will pass.

gatsby12
10-05-16, 13:03