PDA

View Full Version : health anxiety ten times worse after giving birth

klw25
10-06-16, 23:19
This is my first time on the site and I'm really comforted knowing there's other people out there who feel the same way I do. I've felt so alone for a long time.
I've suffered with health anxiety and panic attacks for as long as I can remember, CBT helped me a lot but I had my son in March and since then my anxiety has come back a hundred times worse. I'm convinced I'm going to die and leave my son without his mum. I'm convinced I either have epilepsy or a brain tumour and even though the doctor told me she didn't think I did I still can't get these thoughts out of my head. I Google obsessively and find new things to check myself for, but the worst part is I've started checking my baby now too.
I'm terrified he's going to get seriously ill and panic if he even throws up a little. I don't want him to grow up and inherit my behaviours.
I love him so much and want to be able to enjoy being a mum without worrying obsessively.

1hopefulme
11-06-16, 02:48
Hi there - I wanted to let you know I was the exact same way. My daughter is almost 6 and while I suffered from health anxiety and panic and anxiety my entire life (as long as I can remember) it got SO much worse once she was born. I haven't figured out how to conquer it yet but you are not alone!

klw25
11-06-16, 18:13