PDA

View Full Version : Advice?

Andy1718
12-06-16, 07:59
Hi guys
Just need some advice. Feeling ok and better than I was. Still wake up with anxiety in my arms and finding it hard to sleep. My anxiety seems to heighten when I think about work. I wonder if I will ever get back into the lecture room? Seeing my GP again Thursday. Do I get signed off again to give tablets more time or shall I go back to work? Certainly don't feel like the anxiety has gone but not sure it ever will. It's hard to make that decision because I am either in or out in front of students I cant really just dip my toe in to test the water. Will I know when I am ready to go back? Going into my 3rd week of cit and thinking I might give it two more weeks for full effect. Advise please

Suziewuzie
12-06-16, 09:18
Hi Andy, it sounds like you have quite a full on job & that does make it harder to know what's right to do. I'm a nurse so when I first 'got bad' I just knew in myself that I wasn't ready to face my patients and look after them. I was off for 2 months in total, while I got used to the citalopram and got in a better place mentally. Being off work made it a lot harder in some ways because I had nothing to distract me and the thought of going back used to torment me.
I stayed in touch with work by ringing them once a week to let them know what was happening - it just made me feel less alienated. Once I felt a little better I popped in to see my boss, I went in with the intention of discussing returning to work but once I got in the hospital I just felt completely overwhelmed and knew I wasn't ready - but it was helpful to see my boss and see the work place again. It might be worth doing that?