PDA

View Full Version : Struggling to move forward with my life

SadieJ
16-06-16, 17:34
Hello everyone i'm new here and just looking for some advice really, i've had anxiety for around 8 years.
I split from my ex husband 6 years ago due to it being a very abusive relationship, it was a really dreadful divorce, we sold our home and i moved away. I was a dance teacher for the best part of 10 years and my dream would be to return to doing what i love but at the moment i spend my time volunteering for a few organisations in my local area.
Since my divorce i have been struggling with my sleeping patterns and currently i sleep a few hours at a time, mainly though the day and am awake most nights. I have been prescribed melatonin many times and although initially it helped that soon stopped.

When i was married my ex mostly worked night shifts and i used to have to wake every time he called and be up for when he got home to make him a cup of coffee and or food, and regularly the nights would end in domestics and i believe this is where my problem started.
I have anxiety every single day and it does not let up. I can go out of the house and speak to people, generally living my life except i'm not i am immensely unhappy and cannot see myself meeting someone again.
I've had opportunity to do so but i am afraid to open up to anybody and fear that they will bolt as soon as they know my problems.
I'm very nearly 36 and i ache for a child, but the reality of this happening is slipping away from me everyday and i really don't know where or how i begin to move forward.

Sadie

Beckybecks
16-06-16, 19:49
You've been through an awful experience so it's understandable that you should feel this way. Well done for moving on and for doing volunteer work. You can congratulate yourself on getting this far.

Your sleeping problems are, as you say, probably mostly due to the habits formed while you were married, but also in part due to your anxiety.