PDA

View Full Version : Just joined! NMP was Recommended by a solo traveler

Kshitija Athavale
23-06-16, 21:09
Hello all...

I finally joined today after reading about NMP on the website of a solo female traveler.

I am a freelance German translator and work full time from home.
My husband and I also own a small-scale travel company, which we started just to share our passion for travel with others.
I also am an amateur trekker.

I know in my heart that I love to travel, see new places, meet new people. But recently [since 5-6 months], I have developed the tendency of getting anxiety before leaving for any tour, be it alone or with other travelers.
I think this is because of a particular incident that happened on a Himalayan trek I did last year. One of our group members died from heart failure during the trek. And this has affected me deeply.

I also suffer from homesickness and had to resign from a job and, in the second case, a training abroad just because I wanted to come home.

I find it difficult to detach myself emotionally from my husband and my cat [we have this beautiful male cat for the past five years and I worry about him subconsciously when I am not present at home to look after him].

And sometimes it is also not about my husband or the cat. I just want to be at home; I am ok if my husband has to travel instead of me. I do miss him. But it is still better to miss him while I am at home than to miss him while I am travelling and he is at home.

I particularly find it difficult to distract myself from these anxious thoughts. I keep returning to them no matter how hard I try not to.