PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety, please help

Tommi
25-06-16, 02:51
Hi everyone,

I have suffered with anxiety for over 10 years now, I'm 28 next month and have finally made the first step to get help.
I've made an appointment to see my GP on Tuesday, this is a big step for me as I've been too anxious to even make an appointment as I always overthink things and find it hard to talk on the phone.
I've always been a nervous person, but over the last decade it's just got gradually worse...
I used to be a retail manager of two stores but was treated unfairly for far too long so I quit in March 2015 as I just couldn't handle the stress and anxiety anymore. I also suffer with TMJ disorder and the stress and anxiety would make my migraines, jaw and neck pain even worse, so I decided enough was enough.
My anxiety has got to the point where it's affecting my relationships with my family and friends. I have no income now so we have to rely on what my partner makes which just isn''t enough, and I don't see my family for weeks beacuse sometimes I can't even get out of bed. I always cancel plans with friends and ignore phone calls so the majority don't even bother with me anymore which is really upsetting because they dont understand and I don't know how they ever will. Over the past year I've put on weight and completely lost confidence in myself as well.
I saw a programme on TV that talked about anxiety and that speaking about it can help which is why I found the courage to make an appointment. I am anxious about talking to my doctor about this but I know I need help. Can anyone give me any advice and give me any feedback from your own doctor visits?

Thanks.

georgewing
25-06-16, 06:17