PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety about work

jadedreams
30-06-16, 20:09
Hey guys, haven't posted in a little bit - have been just trying to keep my head above water. Lots of recent stressors.. main thing I want to ask about is work. I have a job, been here for almost 6 years and I really like my job and the people here. That's not the problem, the problem is I'm a computer analyst and there's a project on a new setup I've been working on for a while without making any progress. I am really stumped on this, I know my anxiety and depression isn't helping my thought processes any either.

Anyway, last week we had a system break and now the new system I am working on needs to be done asap. I have asked another guy for help, but he hasn't been able to figure it out yet either and is now on vacation. Also asked the vendor for help but no luck there yet. I am REALLY stressed about this not counting my other stressors (finances, stuff breaking, anxiety and depression itself) .

I am waking up in the morning, feel ok for a couple minutes then I start thinking about the work issue and my stomach starts hurting, I feel nausea really bad, etc. I spend half the day at work trying to solve this thing and feel I am getting nowhere. Each day I don't solve it I feel worse.. my boss knows I am having trouble with solving this, just not sure they realize I really need help on this one. They don't know about my anxiety and depression. Not sure what to do, any tips guys?

Chocolateface
30-06-16, 21:03
Is your boss approachable, if so ask for a quick catch up and let them know how the projects are going. Highlight what you have achieved then explain the challenges and why they are a challenge, try to have some answers for what could be done to improve. If your manager knows the issues they can do things to help.

MyNameIsTerry
03-07-16, 07:08
Hi Jade,