PDA

View Full Version : Distrusting memories

Peterthegreatworrier
04-07-16, 02:54
Hello again. It's been quite a while since I last made a post on this site - my new medication regime has worked wonders:D
However, I once again feel the need for a little advice.
I am a psychology student, and am very familiar with the concept of false memories. I not only learnt how easy it was to create false memories, but that confidence in one's memory does not make it any more likely to be true. Naturally, my pure-O driven brain accordingly started doubting several of my long cherished memories. These aren't of events that I can just confirm by asking the people involved in them - for the most part they were the only times I met those people. I have been questioning some memories so much that they no longer feel like they ever happened.
I am aware of something called memory distrust syndrome which is often associated with OCD, and also the fact that obsessing over memories (such as whether you locked the door) increases distrust in them.
I would be glad to hear from anyone with similar experiances or otherwise has some sort of advice they could be kind enough to offer.
Best regards, Peterthegreatworrier

Noivous
04-07-16, 03:14
Hey Pete - Not sure if this is the same but I once in awhile second guess myself after leaving home. Oh did I turn off the indoor grill. Grr I know I did but if I'm wrong I'll burn the house to the ground. I'll go back and of course the grill is off. Just once I'd like there to be a fire lol. And I will say I do have a couple of old memories that I'm not quite sure if they were a dream. Oh well. Very interesting topic though.

N.

Peterthegreatworrier
04-07-16, 03:29
Yeah, I guess it's kind of a similar thing. There are several research articles on the Internet which talk about how constant checking actually increases uncertainty to whether you checked it or not! It's probably a similar story in my case, I suppose. Thanks!
Peterthegreatworrier

Noivous