PDA

View Full Version : British expat in the EU, panic every day post Brexit

~Unknown
09-07-16, 11:23
Hi everyone, this isn't really my first post but I lost access to my old account so here's a new one! This is an issue nobody can help with, I know that, but I just need to vent and maybe find tips on how to cope when everything crashes around you and you can't stop it.

I was diagnosed with GAD when I was 18 (nearly 10 years ago), I am on 20mg Citalopram. This makes me a "worrier" who apparently obsesses too much over the worst case scenario, but this time I was obsessed over something I really feared happening and it actually did happen.

I moved to Denmark because I have a Danish boyfriend, we have been together over 7 years and I have lived here for over five. Before I moved to Denmark I was a new graduate in the peak of the recession where nobody wanted to hire us with little professional experience, entry level jobs demanded years of experience and it really stung. I had to go on jobseekers and that made me feel like scum, and I felt there was a "you're a benefit leach unless proven otherwise" treatment. I moved to Denmark and have been doing so much better here, I earn money, I have a social life, I have my long term relationship. It's been over five years and this is where I have spent most of my adult life, and I have changed a lot as a person over these years. I've become more confident, more social, stronger, it's been so much better for me here.