PDA

View Full Version : Feel I have lost my way :(

Andy1718
11-07-16, 09:07
So after 22 years of teaching it has come to this. I feel that I have lost my way and my identity. i find myself looking in the mirror waiting for something to click that gives me confidence to go forward, think positively and hope that I still have a career. I am a great teacher, so I have been told, but have lost all my confidence. I am trying to be proactive with reading, exercising, CBT etc but keep waiting for these tablets to make a difference, to give me a inner calm that I have never had. I am ok but work is a major stress factor for me hence the 7 weeks off. I am still on edge, tremble inside and have constant mind chatter. Are these tablets right for me? How long before I go back to the GP to increase dose or change meds? Feeling lost :(

Andy1718
11-07-16, 11:23
Thank you. I am trying to keep positive. I seem to keep withdrawing and withdrawing. It started at work by avoiding meetings, now I avoid school and my classroom but I was not in a good place. Yes you are right I would not get through this without the meds I believe so hopefully they are doing something.

AndyB510
11-07-16, 18:18
Hi Andy

May I ask how long you have been on the tablets and also what tablets they are that you are on?

Firstly I will start by saying that in my experience, each episode of my anxiety and depression has been brought on via work situations. That's not to say it hasnt always been with me but I had coped with it until two specific episodes.

I think that work is the main driver for a lot of people, I assume this is because in reality, the workplace is quite an odd and contrived arena where people are forced to interact with people they would not normally choose in a social setting.